Press release: for immediate release

Former Members Association of the European Parliament Annual Events 1-2 June

On 1 June 2022 from 16.00 to 17.20 at the European Parliament Library’s Reading Room (SPINELLI 05D) the EP Former Members’ Association (FMA) and the European Parliamentary Research Service (EPRS) co-organise a Roundtable discussion entitled The ‘Present Future’ of Europe: The key issues before and after the Conference. The FMA publication ‘Present Future of Europe’, a collection of proposals to stimulate debate on the ideas for today’s Europe, will be presented and discussed with EU policy-makers, in the light of the final report on the outcome of the CoFoE. A copy of the publication will be available in the room. Anthony Teasdale, Director General of the European Parliamentary Research Service (EPRS), will open the Roundtable followed by a presentation of the FMA publication by FMA President and former EP President Hans-Gert Pöttering. Monica Baldi, FMA Vice-President and Dieter Schlenker, Director of EU Historical Archives in Florence will provide introductory remarks on the production of the FMA publication “Present Future of Europe”. Anthony Teasdale will then moderate a roundtable discussion and Q&A featuring Hans-Gert Pöttering, former EP President Klaus Hänsch and MEPs Paulo Rangel (EPP), Marc Tarabella (S&D), Sandro Gozi (Renew), Damian Boeselager (Greens) (tbc), Gunnar Beck (ID), Michiel Hoogeveen (ERC), and Helmut Scholz (THE LEFT).

Teresa Riera Madurell, FMA Secretary will conclude the event.

Simultaneous interpretation will be available in English and French.

After the Roundtable discussion, from 17.45 to 18.15 the thirteenth Annual Memorial Service for deceased former Members of the European Parliament will take place, organised by the FMA under the patronage of the European Parliament. Current and former members of the European Parliament will commemorate their colleagues who passed away in 2021-2022. The programme includes an homage to the Former Presidents of the European Parliament David Maria Sassoli and Lord Henry Plumb who passed away this year. The service will be held in presence in the Hemicycle of the European Parliament in Brussels and will be broadcasted live on the FMA webpage with interpretation in English and French. You can find the brochure of the event with contributions of former colleagues and a list of deceased former MEPs who will be commemorated at the 2022 Memorial Service on the FMA website.

After the Memorial Service, on 1 June at 19.30the FMA Management Committee organises a Dinner Debate in the European Parliament’s Presidential Salon. The event will be chaired by FMA President Hans-Gert Pöttering. Guest Speaker Pat Cox, former EP and FMA President, will give a speech on ‘War in Ukraine – the 21st century’s most momentous geopolitical event’, followed by a Q&A session with FMA members. The audience will be a mix of former MEPs, MEPs and EU officials. This event is open only to FMA members and guests.

On 2 June 2022 from 10.00 to 13.00, the FMA 21st Annual General Assembly will take place in the European Parliament. Once per year, members gather to sum up an intense year of work, to discuss the current activities of the Association and submit their proposals. A new FMA Management Committee will be elected.