Press release: for immediate release

2021 FMA Virtual Memorial Service

On 31 May 2021, under the patronage of the European Parliament, the FMA held the Virtual Annual Memorial Service for deceased former members of the European Parliament. David Maria Sassoli, President of the European Parliament and Dr. Hans-Gert Pöttering, former President of the European Parliament and President of the FMA, brought a tribute to the 69 commemorated former members who passed away in 2019, 2020 and 2021. Jerzy Buzek, former President of the European Parliament, delivered the closing oration.

Besides FMA members and family members of the deceased former members, EP Vice-Presidents Heidi Hautala and Rainer Wieland, among others, attended the virtual ceremony.

The Virtual Memorial Service was web streamed via the FMA website. A full list of former MEPs deceased and commemorated is available here. The brochure of the event with a full programme and the messages of former colleagues is accessible via the FMA website.

The recording of the memorial service can be viewed in full on the FMA website.

The Virtual Memorial Service is part of the events organised on the occasion of the FMA 20th Anniversary. On 1 June 2021 the FMA is organising the public roundtable discussion ‘Together for the Future of Europe’ about the “EU Post-Covid recovery based on Cohesion principles and values”. This roundtable discussion, which consists of two panellist debates featuring prominent speakers, will be opened by President Hans-Gert Pöttering and moderated by journalist Brian Maguire. In the evening, FMA members and guests are invited to participate in the debate with Commissioner for Cohesion and Reforms, Elisa Ferreira.

President of the European Parliament David Sassoli during the 2021 FMA Virtual Memorial Service