Press release: for immediate release

On April 3, the European Parliament Former Members Association (FMA) under presidency of HansGert Pöttering hosts a series of events in Brussels.
The Former Members Association, the European Parliament Research Service and the European University Institute will host a policy roundtable chaired by Anthony Teasdale, Director General of the European Parliamentary Research Service, on Forty years since the first direct elections to the EP: The making of a new political institution. The event will take place from 14.45h to 17.15h in the Library Reading Room, Altiero Spinelli Building, ASP D, Fifth floor.
Former European Parliament Presidents Enrique Baron Crespo, Hans-Gert Pöttering, Klaus Hänsch, Pat Cox and Former European Parliament Vice President for conciliations Charlotte Cederschiöld, will participate to the discussion and share their insight on this exceptional anniversary of democracy as well as their ideas on the upcoming European Parliament elections in May. Dieter Schlenker, Director of the EU Historical Archives, will moderate the panel.

Under the patronage of the European Parliament, the FMA also organises the Eleventh Memorial Service for deceased MEPs from 17.30h to 18.00h in the Yehudi Menuhin Space of the European Parliament in Brussels. The President of the FMA and Former President of the European Parliament, HansGert Pöttering, will chair the event. The First Vice President of the European Parliament Mairead McGuinness will pay tribute to the deceased parliamentarians and the Former President of the European Parliament Klaus Hänsch will deliver the closing oration.

The Annual Memorial Service represents an opportunity to honour the memory of former MEPs who have passed away the year preceding the Service. This year we will pay tribute to 18 former MEPs including Former EP President Nicole Fontaine. Find the full list deceased MEPs here.

After the Memorial Service, former members can participate to a Dinner Debate in the Members Restaurant of the European Parliament in Brussels at 19.30h. EUI President Professor Renaud Dehousse will be the key speaker and will give his keynote speech on BREXIT, Euroscepticism and the future of Europe, after which there will be a Question, Answers session and a lively debate.

Former Members Association Secretariat