FMA Visit to Belgium
8-9 April 2024

Promoting political dialogue under the 2024 Belgian Presidency of the European Union

On 8-9 April 2024, a delegation of Former Members of the European Parliament from the Association of Former Members of the European Parliament (FMA), led by FMA President and Former President of the European Parliament (1994-1997) Dr. Klaus Hänsch, will visit Belgium with meetings being held in Brussels.

It will be a special visit that will allow us to take stock of the situation considering the priorities of the current Belgian Presidency of the Council of the EU.

The programme includes meetings with His Excellency Ambassador Willem van de Voorde, Belgian Permanent Representative to the EU and representatives of the Belgian House and representative of the Belgian Senate.

On 8 Avril 2024, the delegation will participate in a dinner with two guests speakers: the President of the Association of Former Members of Parliament, Former Senators and Former Members of the European Parliament, Mr Manu Dessutter and Mr Mathieu Grosch, Belgian Former Member of the European Parliament, member of the FMA.

On 9 April 2024, the delegation will be led by FMA President Dr. Klaus Hänsch, and will head to the Belgian Federal Parliament where they will meet His Excellency Ambassador Willem van de Voorde, Belgian Permanent Representative to the EU, Mr Pieter Caboor, the Director of Legal Department at the Belgian House on the Belgian Institutional system, and Mr Gaëtan Van Goidsenhoven, Senator and co-president of the Federal Advisory committee on European Affairs and its member.

The delegation will have a chance to discuss the cooperation between the European Union and regional authorities.

Click here for the programme and here for more information.




Name Function Political group and mandate Nationality
FMA Board Members
Klaus HÄNSCH FMA President and Former EP President PES, 1979 – 2009 Germany
Monica BALDI FMA Vice-President EPP-ED, 1994 – 1999 Italy
Jean-Pierre AUDY FMA Treasurer EPP, 2005 – 2014 France
Teresa RIERA MADURELL FMA Secretary S&D, 2004 – 2014 Spain
Miguel Angel MARTINEZ MARTINEZ FMA Board Member S&D, 1999 – 2014 Spain
Manuel PORTO FMA Board Member ELDR, 1989 – 1996

EPP-ED, 1996 – 1999




FMA Board Member

EPP, 1989 – 1999

EPP-ED, 1999 – 2009

EPP, 2009 – 2019






FMA Board Member

EPP, 1996 – 1999

EPP-ED, 1999 – 2009

EPP, 2009 – 2019



FMA Members
Jean-Paul BENOIT FMA Member PES, 1989 – 1994 France
Soledad CABEZÓN RUIZ FMA Member S&D, 2014-2019 Spain
Michael CRAMER FMA Member Greens/EFA, 2004 – 2019 Germany
Jan DHAENE FMA Member Greens/EFA, 2002 – 2004 Belgium
Teresa DOMINGO SEGARRA FMA Member GUE, 1989-1993

NA, 1993-1994

Vitaliano GEMELLI FMA Member EPP, 1999 – 2004 Italy



FMA Member

EPP, 1994 – 1999

EPP-ED, 1999 – 2009

EPP, 2009 – 2019



Malcolm HARBOUR FMA Member EPP-ED, 1999 – 2009

ECR, 2009 – 2014

United Kingdom
Gisela KALLENBACH FMA Member Greens/EFA, 2004 – 2009 Germany
Jo LEINEN FMA Member S&D, 1999 – 2019 Germany
George LYON FMA Member ALDE, 2009 – 2014 United Kingdom
Robert MORELAND FMA Member ED, 1979 – 1984 United Kingdom
Alojze PETERLE FMA Member EPP, 2004-2019 Slovenia
Michel PINTON FMA Member NA, 1993-1994 France
Peter PRICE FMA Member EPP-ED, 1979 – 1994 United Kingdom
Frank SCHWALBA-HOTH FMA Member V, 1984 – 1987 Germany
Margarita STARKEVICIUTE FMA Member ALDE, 2004 – 2009 Lithuania
Hannes SWOBODA FMA Member S&D, 1996 – 2014 Austria
Csaba Sándor TABAJDI FMA Member S&D, 2004 – 2014 Hungary
Bob VAN DEN BOS FMA Member ELDR, 1999 – 2004 Netherlands



The Former Members Association of the European Parliament (FMA) aims at availing of the experience and expertise of former MEPs. The FMA is involved in a wide range of activities including seminars, study visits, university lectures, democracy building, and the spreading of information about the European Parliament and the EU. FMA members are engaged in Democracy Support and Election Observation missions fostering the co-operation with universities by participating pro-bono in the educational programme “EP to Campus”.



PRESS CONTACT – Valerie Raskin


Tel. +32 (0)2 284 07 03

Follow us on X  and Facebook


Click here for the programme and here for more information.